# MINUTES OF REORGANIZATION MEETING **BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS**

**DECEMBER 5, 2022** 

CALL TO ORDER Mrs. Jeanine Hurt-Robinson, Vice President, called the Reorganization

Meeting of the Riverview Board of School Directors to order at 7:03 p.m.,

December 5, 2022.

Nick Paradise, Rachel Pazman, Amy Toland, Tracey Soilis, Laurie Sliben, JP VISITORS PRESENT

Bertucci, Junior Gonzalez

ROLL CALL Present: Members: Mrs. Chaparro, Ms. Garibay, Mr. Hawk, Mrs. Hurt-

> Robinson, Dr. McClure, Dr. Pallone, Mr. Paris, Ms. Miller, Mrs. Wilton; Falco Muscante, Solicitor; Dr. English, Supt.; Ms. Wehner, Business Manager; Mrs.

Zatawski, Recording Secretary

ELECTION OF TEMPORARY **PRESIDENT** 

The floor was opened for nominations for the Election of the Temporary President by Mr. Muscante, Solicitor. Dr. McClure nominated Ms. Miller. Ms Miller nominated Dr. McClure. Nominations were closed. Ms. Miller was elected Temporary President with eight (8) affirmative votes and one abstention (Ms. Miller) on roll call vote. The Reorganization Meeting was

turned over to Ms. Miller.

**ELECTION OF PRESIDENT** Ms. Miller opened the floor for the nomination of President. Ms. Garibay nominated Mrs. Hurt-Robinson. Ms. Wilton nominated Mr. Hawk. Ms. Miller called twice for additional nominations. Hearing no other nominations, Mr. Paris made a motion to close. Dr. Pallone seconded the motion. Ms. Garibay made a motion to elect Mrs. Hurt-Robinson as President. Mrs. Hurt-Robinson was elected President with seven (7) affirmative votes and two (2) for Mr.

Hawk on roll call vote.

**ELECTION OF VICE PRESIDENT** 

Mrs. Hurt-Robinson opened the floor for the nomination of Vice President. Ms. Chaparro was elected Vice President with six (6) affirmative votes and

three (3) for Mr. Hawk on a roll call vote.

**ELECTION OF BOARD DELEGATES** 

The results of the Board Delegates were shared as follows:

**Education:** Mrs. Wilton, Chair

Finance: Dr. McClure, Chair; Mr. Hawk, Co-Chair

Student Life: Mr. Paris, Chair Safety: Mr. Hawk, Chair

Communications & Marketing: Mrs. Chaparro, Chair

Mrs. Hurt-Robinson reminded the board that they operate largely as a committee of the whole; and when committees bring topics to the attention of

the full board, the full board approves all final decisions.

FORBES ROAD

Mrs. Hurt-Robinson opened the floor for the nomination of Forbes Road. Ms. Miller nominated Ms. Garibay. Mrs. Chaparro seconded the motion which passed unanimously. Ms. Garibay was elected Forbes Road Delegate.

# MINUTES OF REORGANIZATION MEETING **BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS**

**DECEMBER 5, 2022** 

**LEGISLATIVE DELEGATE** Mrs. Hurt-Robinson opened the floor for the nomination of Legislative Delegate. Ms. Miller nominated Dr. Pallone. Dr. McClure seconded the motion which passed unanimously. Dr. Pallone was elected Legislative Delegate.

#### EASTERN AREA DELEGATE

Mrs. Hurt-Robinson opened the floor for the nomination of Eastern Area Delegate. (Eastern Area delegate was tabled momentarily and nominations discussed) Mrs. Wilton was nominated by Mrs. Chaparro. Ms. Garibay seconded the motion which passed unanimously. Mrs. Wilton was elected Eastern Area Delegate.

## REORGANIZATION BUSINESS

Mrs. Chaparro moved that items A, B, C, and D as listed be approved. Ms. Garibay seconded the motion which passed unanimously on roll call vote.

## A) Calendar of Meetings

The regularly scheduled meetings of the Board of School Directors shall be held as scheduled on the Calendar as presented this meeting. Due to issues related to Covid-19, Board meetings may be held in a virtual setting.

The Reorganization Meeting shall be held on Monday, December 4, 2023 at 7:00 pm.

All meetings shall be held on Mondays at 7:00 pm unless otherwise noted in the Calendar or further published notice.

#### B) Authorization for Proper Signature

The Board President, Board Secretary, and Board Treasurer are authorized to sign checks on School District accounts. Authorization is given for any required changes of signatures on all bank accounts. Authorization is given for the execution of signature cards as required to implement this action.

### C) Facsimile Signatures

The Board President, Board Secretary and Board Treasurer are authorized to use facsimile signatures for signing checks. The Board Secretary and Board Treasurer are authorized to operate the check signing device.

## D) PSBA Principles for Governance and Leadership

Resolution 2223-011 adopting the 2023 Principles for Governance and Leadership through the Pennsylvania School Board Association.

## ADJOURNMENT

Mrs. Hurt-Robinson moved that the Reorganization Meeting be adjourned. The meeting adjourned at 7:52 pm and moved to the Regular Voting Meeting.